Skip to Content
© Prathan Chorruangsak | Dreamstime.com
TV & streaming

The common mistake that will lock you out of your own Netflix account

Since the pandemic began, streaming services have become more popular than ever with a major surge in the number of subscriptions. Netflix alone added 15.6 million new paid subscribers in the first quarter of 2020.

But, are you utilizing everything Netflix has to offer? There are tons of hidden features that not everyone knows about like secret discovery codes and how to download shows to view offline. Tap or click here for 7 Netflix pro tips.

Even worse than not knowing insider tricks is the frightening scenario some Netflix users have found themselves in recently. They’re being locked out of their own account. But, why?

The dreaded too many users warning

Have you ever shared login credentials for streaming services with others before? It’s okay, you don’t have to admit it.

RELATED: Secret Netflix codes you’ll wish you knew sooner

Netflix actually allows users to share their accounts with people living in the same household, which is why you have the option to set up different profiles. It’s supposed to be shared with only the people we live with but let’s be honest, you’ve most likely given your password to a friend or two over the years. Not to mention your third cousin on your mother’s side.

This is where the problem lies. All Netflix accounts are limited to the number of screens it can be used at the same time and it depends on which type of account you pay for.

The Basic plan allows you to stream on one screen. The Standard plan lets you stream on two screens at the same time. Finally, the Netflix Premium plan allows you to stream on a total of four screens at the same time. See the breakdown below:

Netflix

So if you’ve given your credentials to a few people, there’s a good chance you’ll be blocked from watching Netflix at some point as everyone on your account decides to watch something at the same time. Especially during times like COVID-19 when everyone is staying home more and looking for ways to stay entertained. The good news is there’s a simple solution.

RELATED: Netflix scam: This symbol means your account has been stolen

How to take back your Netflix account

If you’ve handed out your Netflix password to multiple people over the years and it’s now coming back to haunt you, there is a fix. First, you’ll need to remove the undesirables from your list of users. Here’s where to begin:

  • Open Netflix on a computer and click on the profile icon at the top right of the homepage.
  • Choose Account and scroll down to the Settings menu that appears.
  • Locate an option called Sign out of All Devices. Confirm that you’re sure when you’re ready and click Sign Out.

Doing this will ensure every device that is logged into your Netflix account is signed out. But, it’s just the first step.

Now you’ll need to change your Netflix password so those you don’t want using your account are unable to sign back in. Here’s how:

  • On a computer, tap or click here to visit the Netflix password reset page. (Note: Don’t log in as normal, since that would sign the unwanted users back in as well. The page linked above is for forgotten passwords, which allows you to reset without logging in.)
  • Confirm your account email address or phone number and wait for the verification message.
  • Verify your account and enter a new password. Make sure it’s different than before and make it unique from any other online accounts. Try to generate something others won’t easily guess. Tap or click here to see how you can make stronger passwords.

There you have it, your Netflix account is all yours again. Feel free to share your new credentials with people in your residence who you actually want to use your account. But remember, if too many are logged in at once you may still be left in the dark. At least you have Hulu, too.

Stop robocalls for good with Kim’s new eBook

Robocalls interrupt us constantly and scam Americans out of millions of dollars every year. Learn Kim's best tricks for stopping annoying robocalls in this handy guide.

Get the eBook