We've told you in the past about how to activate the private mode in your browser. In this mode, your browser doesn't remember what sites you visit or store any cookies from your travels.
Private browsing mode is a great way to shop for a surprise gift for that special someone, to log into multiple social media or shopping accounts on the same site with the same browser, or avoid seeing targeted ads as you browse.
Once you close the browser window, it's supposed to be like you weren't even using it. Unfortunately that "supposed to" can get you if you aren't careful.
Some people think that private browsing protects them against any spying, snooping or tracking, and that just isn't true. Here are some ways you can still get caught.
If you download any files to your computer while in private browsing mode, they don't automatically disappear when you close the browser. Anyone can still find them on your gadget. The same goes if you made a PDF file of a receipt.
Hopefully, this goes without saying, but if you made any purchases while in private browsing mode, they will show up on your bank statement. So someone, like a significant other, who has access to your account or snoops on your statement can see what you were up to.
OK, OK, you're smart enough not to download files or expect to make secret purchases while in private browsing mode. However, there's something a bit trickier that you might not have thought about.