Leave a comment

3 Windows 10 privacy gotchas

3 Windows 10 privacy gotchas

Microsoft's Windows 10 has a lot of good qualities, but since its release, it's come under fire for some serious privacy concerns. The major worries involve sending a lot of data back to Microsoft, and by default, shares some things you might not be comfortable having out in the open.

We've already covered how to tell Windows 10 not to show you targeted advertising, track your location, store your searches and contacts, or share your Wi-Fi network with friends and family. (Click here if you missed those helpful tips.) However, there are some more privacy gotchas in Windows 10 that you need to know.

1. Syncing settings

If you linked your Microsoft account to your Windows 10 user account, which is what Windows asks you to do during setup, then Windows is backing up certain information. That includes your Edge browser history, favorites and passwords, plus Windows themes and more.

The idea is that you can log into any other Windows 8 or 10 computer and have your basic account right there. However, it also means a lot of sensitive personal information is on Microsoft's servers.

If you aren't comfortable with that, you can turn off syncing. Go to Start >> Settings >> Accounts and under Sync your settings, switch off every option. Under Accounts, you can also change your account from a Microsoft Account to a local account. A local account cuts most ties with Microsoft's servers and takes care of some of the privacy worries.

Next page: Microsoft scans your software?
3 Windows 10 secrets you need to know
Previous Tips

3 Windows 10 secrets you need to know

3 ways to customize Windows 10
Next Tips

3 ways to customize Windows 10

View Comments ()