4. Erase everything, back to square one
Ready to throw up your hands in despair? Not yet! This final step will, at the very least, get rid of your unwanted toolbars.
A browser reset will restore your browser to its default settings and get rid of any unwanted extras.
The catch is that your browser will also wipe out your personal settings. This includes your homepage, bookmarks, saved passwords and add-ons.
The most important thing to save is your bookmarks and passwords.
For bookmarks, head to your bookmark management area - this tip tells you where - and export them to a file on your desktop. You can re-import them later.
For passwords, put them in a free third-party password manager. It safely stores your passwords in an encrypted file. You can access them no matter what computer you're using.