Skip to Content
© Piotr Swat | Dreamstime.com
Safety & security

Privacy how-to: Delete your Google account for good (without losing your emails)

It is not a secret that Google collects a ton of information every time you use its search engine. Tap or click here to see everything Google knows about you with one search. However, not everyone wants to be tracked by Big Tech companies like Google.

Whether you’re a bride-to-be who’s gone a little crazy with her wedding planner or a closet Star Trek fan, you can be sure Google knows about it. With each new search, email and cute YouTube crazy cat video you watch, Google keeps up and shows you more of what it thinks you like.

If you are sick of all the data Google is collecting, you can drop them completely and opt for other programs. You’ll need to do more than stop using Google Search to end the collecting of data. Keep reading to find out how to delete your Google account for good without losing your emails and personal data.

First, back up your data

If you are going to delete your account, you don’t want to lose anything important. Once deleted, you’ll lose all access and won’t be able to recover anything, no matter how important. This includes anything you’ve backed up to Google Drive. You’ll need to export the information from your Google account. Here’s how:

  • Scroll through all your Google services and check the ones you want to keep. Anything you leave unchecked won’t be saved.
  • Select next step.
  • Under Delivery method, choose Send download link via email.
  • Check export once.
  • Choose your file type.
  • Click create export.
  • Your export will be sent. The typical export takes between a few hours and a few days to complete depending on how much data you have to save.

Delete your Google account

After you’ve backed up all your data and are sure you won’t lose any valuable information, you can move onto deleting your account permanently.

  • Head to your Google account and ensure you are logged in.
  • Head to the following address: https://myaccount.google.com/delete-services-or-account.  
  • Choose Delete Your Account.
  • You’ll need to re-enter your password for security purposes.
  • You’ll need to check two boxes before you can complete the deletion. One saying you acknowledge that you will be charged for any pending Google expenses related to your account and the second one confirming you want to delete your account. (Yes, Google, we are sure!).
  • Press the Delete Account button.
  • You are now free of Google!

Deleting your Google account will only stop Google from tracking you. If you really want to eliminate yourself from the internet, as much as is humanly possible, you’ll have to take a few more steps. Tap or click here for seven ways to protect your data and delete yourself from the internet.

 

Komando Community background

Join the Komando Community!

Get even more digital know-how and entertainment within the Komando Community! Watch or listen to The Kim Komando Show on your schedule, read Kim's eBooks for free, and get answers in the Tech Forum.

Join Now