Skip to Content
Privacy

Why Kim recommends deactivating Facebook

Every now and then a news story comes out that impacts pretty much everybody. Maybe it doesn’t impact some folks in a direct way, but certainly at least indirectly.

When it comes to Facebook, which has more than 2 billion users worldwide, anything regarding the social media site is likely to make a difference in your life. Like, for instance, nowadays as they are under fire for what transpired between them and Cambridge Analytica.

In short, Cambridge Analytica is being accused of having pilfered Facebook users’ data by way of an online quiz, data which they then used to aid political campaigns. That revelation, along with the very idea of the site being used to mine information may be enough to get some to rethink whether or not they actually want to be on it.

If Facebook is giving you the heebie-jeebies, consider this option

With all this uncertainty surrounding Facebook as well as the general creepiness the site seems to be exuding, you may be wondering if it’s time to hit the eject button and move on from the site. If so, you are not alone.

In fact, Kim made the decision to deactivate her account, which is a step she advises you take, too.

Now, you should know there is a difference between deactivating your account and canceling it entirely. If you decide any value Facebook brings to your life is no longer worth the downsides, total cancellation may be for you.

But if you are feeling queasy about Facebook right now but aren’t sure you want to rid it from your life forever, deactivating is your best bet.

How do I deactivate my Facebook?

Glad you asked. It’s actually quite simple. Just follow these steps:

1. Log into your Facebook account. In the upper right-hand corner of the home screen is a downward facing triangle.

2. Click on the triangle. That will open up a drop-down menu with a few different options. You will want to click on “Settings.”

3. That will open up a new page with more places to click. At the bottom of the list is an option to “Deactivate Your Account.” Hover over that box and click.

4. That click will expand the box, making room for text explaining what deactivating your account will and will not do. If at this point you still want to go through with it, click on the blue text that says “Deactivate your account.”

5. From there, Facebook will ask you to enter your password. It makes sense — they want to make sure you are the only person who can deactivate your account.

6. Once you’ve entered your password, Facebook will give you one more chance to change your mind. It will even try and lay a guilt trip on you, picking a random group of people and saying they will miss you when you go. If you can resist, it then asks for your reasons for leaving. In this case, you’ll want to click on “Other” before explaining further in the space provided. An easy answer would be to say you “need a break.”

Congrats! Your Facebook has been deactivated. That doesn’t mean you can’t return to it, of course, but for now, your profile will no longer exist. While doing this, you’ll also want to make sure you opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook.

After all, they are not going to take this break up very well and will do what they can to get you back.

If you ever took a Facebook quiz you need to read this

Amajor voter profiling firm is embroiled in a massive disgraceful scandal. They are accused of using a quiz on Facebook to harvest your profile and the profiles of your friends. Click here to learn how they did it.

Ambassador Program background

Refer friends, earn rewards!

Why not share your new source of digital-lifestyle news, tips and advice with others? When your friends and family subscribe to Kim's free newsletters, you earn points toward awesome rewards!

Get Rewarded