Have you ever received a Friend request from someone on Facebook that’s caused you to pause? There’s a gray area. You have your close friends and family, and then there are those acquaintances that lie somewhere in the middle. Maybe it’s an old roommate, a co-worker or someone you once dated. Whoever it is, you’re in a bind. If you deny the Friend request, you could hurt their feelings. But if you accept, they’ll see everything you post to your account.
It can happen the other way around, too. Perhaps you’ve had a small falling out with someone you’ve been friends with for years, or you just don’t have the same connection with them you once had.
Situations such as these create a unique dilemma. The problem may not be extreme enough to warrant blocking that person altogether. But, you still don’t want them to have full access to your posts and photo albums.
Luckily, there’s a little trick you can use to limit the content these people can see, without having to block them altogether. And it’s really simple. You just have to add these people to your “Restricted List.”
What is the Restricted List, exactly? Well, it’s not as intimidating as it sounds. It’s basically a list you create so you have more control over who sees what from your account.
When a person is added to your Restricted List, they’ll only be able to see content you’ve marked as “public” or things you’ve tagged them in. Otherwise, the posts you share with “Friends Only” won’t show up in their feed, or be visible to them.
This feature is really handy if you want to keep your professional and private life separate, or if you’re not sure if a particular person can be trusted. Here’s how you set it up.
First, visit the Facebook page of the friend you’d like to restrict.
In the lower right-hand corner of their profile image, click the down arrow where it says “Friends,” then click “Add to another List.”
Next, select the option “Restricted.”
This is all it takes to add someone to your Restricted List. But what if you would like to edit or review your Restricted List down the road?
You can edit your lists by clicking on “Friends Lists” on the left-hand side of your News Feed.
Once there, you’ll see the different groups your Friends have been sorted into, including your Restricted List.