Leave a comment

Don't fall for this Facebook security hoax

Don't fall for this Facebook security hoax
© Alexander Yakimov | Dreamstime.com

It makes sense that the more we hear about security issues surrounding Facebook, there would be a rise in people trying to take advantage of our fears. It's kind of an accepted part of life, and all we can do is try our best not to fall for any of it.

The best way to do that is to look into everything we read and are told with regards to security and privacy on the site. There are some things we are told to do in order to turn certain features off and upgrade our security that is true.

There are also plenty of things that make the rounds that are not. Yet for some reason, it always seems like the fake concepts, the hoaxes, are what gain the most traction.

Say it with us: Comments do not equal security

The latest rumor circulating on Facebook is that you can show your account is secure by typing "BFF" into a comment on a post. It may look a little different depending on who posts it, but the general appearance is:

The thing is, it's not true. Zuckerberg did not invent "BFF," and typing that into a comment will do nothing other than show you to be a bit on the gullible side. It will not reveal anything about how your account is or is not protected.

Speaking of which, what does "your account is protected" even mean? Protected from what? From whom?

Those are the kind of questions you should ask yourself when things like this show up in your feed. The vaguer the payoff is, the greater the chance of it being illegitimate.

What to do if you see this

If you happen to come across this "security measure" it is important that you do nothing except maybe make fun of whomever it is that shared it. That would be it.

Otherwise, just see it, chuckle to yourself and move along with your day.

Security on Facebook is important, though

While this specific idea will do nothing to help your online security, there are things you can do to improve that situation. It mostly comes down to paying better attention and understanding what you are accepting when you join sites like Facebook and enjoy some third-party apps within it.

Like, for instance, if you ever took a Facebook quiz, you'll want to read this about what kind of information you may have willingly given away. It would also be a good idea to check out this story, which details how to learn if any sketchy apps have access to your Facebook profile.

You can also deactivate or delete your account entirely, which you can read about here and here. Note that deactivating your account does not necessarily mean Facebook cannot track you, so if that's the route you go (and even if it's not), you'll want to look into how that can be stopped here.

Speaking of Facebook, they're collecting your call and text data

Facebook is keeping track of phone calls and text messages. If that sounds bad that's because it is, though according to Facebook it's not exactly what it seems. Click here to learn more.

Next Story
Facebook is collecting all of your call and text data, how you can turn it off
Previous Happening Now

Facebook is collecting all of your call and text data, how you can turn it off

5 things you need to know about Apple's new iPad
Next Happening Now

5 things you need to know about Apple's new iPad

View Comments ()