Leave a comment

iPhone tracks your every move unless you use these privacy settings

iPhone tracks your every move unless you use these privacy settings
© Prudencio Alvarez | Dreamstime.com

Smartphones are amazing and have changed our lives for the better. We can do so many things with these handy gadgets that you probably only dreamed of a couple decades ago.

A great example is the ability to have face-to-face conversations with anyone, anywhere in the world. Apps like Skype and FaceTime make it possible.

Unfortunately, privacy concerns also come with smartphones. The good news is, we have control over some of these issues.

Hiding your locations

You might not realize this but your iPhone keeps track of everywhere you go. In fact, it keeps a record of places you frequent in a feature called Significant Locations.

This information is used to provide you with personalized services, such as predictive traffic routing. It's also kept only on your phone and not shared with Apple. However, you might not want this information on your phone.

What if a snoop gets a hold of your gadget or it's lost or stolen? They could easily find out where you work, live and hang out. Don't worry, if you don't want this data stored on your iPhone, you can turn off the feature. Here's how:

Open Settings >> Tap Privacy >> Tap Location Services >> Tap System Services >> Tap Significant Locations. You can turn off Significant Locations by toggling the switch left.

Now that you've turned the feature off, it will no longer keep a record of the places you visit. (Note: turning off Significant Locations means you will no longer receive certain personalized services.)

Removing individual locations

If you decide that you want to keep receiving personalized services, you can keep the Significant Locations feature on. If this is the case you can still remove specific locations that you don't want the wrong people to see.

To remove your home or work locations, simply go to the Significant Locations feature and tap the city these locations are in. You will see a list of places that you frequent in your home city.

Just tap the Edit button in the top-right corner and remove each entry that you don't want to appear. Tapping the red minus symbol removes the entry.

As I said earlier, these locations are only kept on your iPhone. But with so many criminals targeting smartphones these days, it's always better to be safe than sorry.

Speaking of privacy, here are some essential Facebook settings you need to change now

Having a Facebook account isn't great for your privacy. If you aren't careful, you could post the wrong thing to the world and get in trouble at work, school, with family or even the law. Plus, hackers and identity thieves can also watch your account. That's why you need to follow these steps to lock down the privacy settings on your Facebook account.

Click here for step-by-step instructions and screenshots.

Next Story
Amazon purchases that could flag you with TSA
Previous Happening Now

Amazon purchases that could flag you with TSA

New Alexa skill could save your life
Next Happening Now

New Alexa skill could save your life

View Comments ()