Facebook has become a social media giant since it launched in 2004. The site is so popular, there are over 2 billion active monthly users worldwide. With that incredible number of users, the site is bound to be a major target for cybercriminals.
While a few of the scams you'll find on the site are harmless, there are others that can actually cause serious problems. There's a Facebook hoax making the rounds now that you need to watch out for. Don't forget to click the share button located on the left side of this article to post it on Facebook, it's critical that your friends and family know this information as well.
Watch out for latest Facebook hoax
There are posts making the rounds on Facebook telling people to search the words "following me." Supposedly, doing so will show you who is stalking you on Facebook and reading your posts, even though they are not on your "friends" list.
The post mention that the followers are located in another country.
Users are then instructed to tighten up their Facebook security to stop stalkers from watching their every move. The post tells people to go to Facebook settings and type in "following me" under the blocking users section.
Below is an example of what the hoax looks like so this way you can quickly identify it when you see it on Facebook.
Image: Example of Facebook hoax making the rounds. (Source: Techadvisor)
If you type in "following me" in the blocking users section, you will only see a list of Facebook users who have "following me" in their profile name or profile. It won't actually show you who is following you that is not your friend.
Besides, if you have your Facebook settings secure, people who are not on your friend's list can only see things that you post publicly. And you already know that you shouldn't post things publicly that are sensitive.
If you are concerned with who is seeing your posts, take the following privacy steps.
How to secure your Facebook account
The Privacy tab controls who can see what you post and who can contact and find you. If you only change the settings in one place, this should be it.
Begin by logging into Facebook. Then, click on the downward facing arrow in the upper right-hand corner. Select Settings, then click on Privacy on the left side of the screen.
In the "Who can see my stuff?" menu, set "Who can see your future posts?" to Friends. Then click the "Limit Past Posts" link and then the "Limit Old Posts" button. This changes any old posts marked as "Public" to "Friends."
From here you can also access the Activity Log. This lets you review old posts, photos and more in your timeline to get rid of things you don't want people to see anymore. Learn more about using the Activity Log to protect your privacy.
In the "Who can contact me?" section, change "Who can send you friend requests?" to "Friends of Friends." This keeps strangers from sending you friend invites you don't want. The exception is if you want old friends from school to be able to send you friend requests.
Under "Who can look me up?" you want to change the settings to "Friends," "Friends" and "No." This makes it much harder for strangers or stalkers to find you if they just have a phone number, email address or know your name. Keep in mind, this will also stop old friends from easily finding you.
After making the previous changes, your Facebook account will be as private as it can be. Don't forget to share this article with your family and friends so they can change their privacy settings as well.