Leave a comment

Sex predators using iPhone trick to send nude pictures

Sex predators using iPhone trick to send nude pictures
Sasi Ponchaisang | Dreamstime

Imagine minding your own business when all of the sudden you receive an alert on your iPhone from someone who wants to share a photo with you. You have no idea who sent it or why or how they gained access to your phone.

It happened to me a few months ago. I was waiting in line to order food when I received an alert to my phone from a stranger who wanted to share a nude photo with me. A preview of the image popped up on my screen and gave me the option to decline or accept the photo.

How could someone who doesn't have any of my contact information be able to send me pictures? The answer is AirDrop. Perverted individuals are using this iOS feature to send unsolicited pictures of their private parts to unsuspecting strangers.

In the past, these sex pests had to run around in trench coats in order to flash random people. But now they can use technology to digitally expose themselves. Recently, there have been reports of subway riders receiving nude photos via AirDrop from other commuters.

What is AirDrop?

AirDrop is a feature for iPhones, iPod Touches and iPads that allows Apple users to instantly share content with other Apple users who are within a certain range. It uses Wi-Fi and Bluetooth to transfer files, such as pictures and videos, to nearby devices. You can also use it to share your location, phone contacts and Safari webpages.

Suppose you are taking a huge group photo at your family reunion. Instead of texting or emailing the photo to every single family member, everyone can turn on AirDrop and receive the photo within seconds. It's much quicker and easier than typing everyone's number or email address into a new message. It's especially useful if the file is too large to email.

If you have a Mac that is signed in to an Apple ID then you can also use AirDrop to share files with yourself from your phone to your computer. Click here to learn more about how to use AirDrop.

How to prevent unwanted pictures

Although AirDrop makes file sharing more convenient, it may also leave your device vulnerable to unwanted content. Luckily, it's easy to turn this setting off or limit who can send you pictures and videos.

AirDrop has three receiving options: Receiving Off means you won't receive any alerts for requests to share content with you. Contacts Only means that only saved contacts in your phone can send you content. Everyone means that anyone within range can send you a share request. You can accept or decline the request. Unfortunately, most people have their devices unknowingly set to Everyone.

To access these settings on your iPhone, iPod Touch, or iPad, swipe up from the bottom of your locked screen to open up your phone's Control Center. Tap the AirDrop button, it's on the right side toward the middle of the menu, right below the brightness slider. Select Receiving Off, Contacts Only or Everyone to change your settings.

*You can always set it to Everyone to receive a group photo and then go back and change it to Receiving Off after you have the photo.

(If you're reading this article on the Komando.com app, click here to see the photo instructions for controlling AirDriop.)

More from Happening Now

Tricky malware stealing banking login details to access your cash

Leaked Microsoft memo exposes Surface quality issues

Amazon refunding customers for fake products

Next Story
Source: Mirror
Get your Amazon order in under 2 minutes! Here's how
Previous Happening Now

Get your Amazon order in under 2 minutes! Here's how

You have to try Facebook's new camera features!
Next Happening Now

You have to try Facebook's new camera features!

View Comments ()