Leave a comment

Popular app shutting down and your photos will be permanently deleted

Popular app shutting down and your photos will be permanently deleted
Heirloom

How do you preserve old photos? You could spend hours scanning them to make digital copies or pay a service to do that for you. Or you could use Heirloom. It's a free app for Apple and Android users that makes it easy to save and share print photos.

Simply use your phone's camera to snap a photo of the print and the app will crop and color correct the image. Sounds quick and easy, right? It was, but soon you will need to find another way to update your photo collection.

As of August 1, 2017, the Heirloom app will be shut down. So if you have any photos saved in this app then you need to find another place to store them by July 31, 2017! Once the app is shut down, there will be no way to retrieve your photos from the service.

If you have photos saved on Heirloom then you can transfer them to your computer, phone or tablet. Here are the instructions from their site:

Download your photos to your computer from www.heirloom.net

  1. Go to www.heirloom.net from your computer and sign in with your Heirloom username and password.
  2. When you scroll over a photo in Moments, you’ll notice a checkmark. Click the checkmark to select your photo, then select any other photos you want to download or export.
  3. An action bar will appear when one or more photos is selected. Click ‘Download.’ Select ‘Download Zip File’ or ‘Save to Dropbox.’
  4. If downloading, wait until the file has zipped. Then click ‘Download’ again. You can also download images from Heirloom directly to your device.

Download photos to your iPhone or iPad

  1. Go to your moments and tap on an image.
  2. Click the icon with the arrow in the lower-right corner and select save to camera roll.

Download photos to your Android phone or tablet

  1. Go to your moments and tap on an image.
  2. Click the icon with the down arrow at the bottom of the screen.
  3. You should see a confirmation message on the screen once it has saved to your device.

Once you've saved all of these precious photos it's a good idea to back them up. Our sponsor iDrive can back up computers, phones, and tablets. Click here to learn more about this invaluable service. If you decide to sign up then use promo code KIM to save 50 percent.

P.S. The app is shutting down because the developers have decided to move in a new direction. They created Mylestone, a service that is supposed to create memories from your photos. You upload pictures to the service and then Amazon's digital assistant Alexa can recall your experiences. Click here to see how it works.

More from Happening Now

Internet and cellphone outages reported nationwide

Leaked Samsung Galaxy Note 8 images reveal stunning new design

Alexa-enabled "Dash Wand" saves time and money at the grocery store

Next Story
CIA accused of hacking Wi-Fi routers for at least a decade
Previous Happening Now

CIA accused of hacking Wi-Fi routers for at least a decade

Amazon won’t let you check prices using your phone
Next Happening Now

Amazon won’t let you check prices using your phone

View Comments ()