Leave a comment

Now you can REALLY delete Uber from your phone

Now you can REALLY delete Uber from your phone
© Worawee Meepian | Dreamstime.com

Have you ever used a ride-sharing service? They can be very convenient and affordable if you need to get somewhere and don't have your own transportation. You just open the company's app, request a ride and just like that, your driver arrives within minutes.

Unfortunately, a major privacy concern has recently been exposed with Uber's app. The company has been accused of using its app to track customers without their knowledge. There's good news though, there's now an easy way to delete the app and stop it from tracking you.

How to keep Uber's app from tracking you

Uber recently announced it will be updating its app to put all of your privacy settings in one place and make it easier to use. The company said this is intended to give riders more choice and control of the information they share with Uber. Over the next few weeks, you should see a Privacy Settings menu inside the app. It will look like this:

Image: Example of Privacy Settings in Uber's app. (Source: Uber)

As you can see in the image above, it will be easier than ever to delete the app. In the past, users needed to email Uber's customer service to request the app to be deleted from their phone.

Now, you will be able to delete it right from the app by opening the Privacy Settings. So if you don't believe that Uber is serious about your privacy, you can easily get rid of the app.

Uber denies allegations of tracking its customers. A spokesperson told Tech Crunch:

"We absolutely do not track individual users or their location if they've deleted the app. As The New York Times story notes towards the very end, this is a typical way to prevent fraudsters from loading Uber onto a stolen phone, putting in a stolen credit card, taking an expensive ride and then wiping the phone -- over and over again.

"Similar techniques are also used for detecting and blocking suspicious logins to protect our users' accounts. Being able to recognize known bad actors when they try to get back onto our network is an important security measure for both Uber and our users."

If you choose to delete the Uber app, the company said that you have 30 days to change your mind and reactivate your account.

Are you convinced that you will not be tracked after deleting the Uber app? Leave a comment and tell us your thoughts.

Note: If you are reading this article using the Komando.com App, click here to see an example of Uber's Privacy Settings page.

More stories you can't miss:

3 ways to virus-proof your computer

One way to stop Facebook from tracking you

Google and Facebook hit by $100 million phishing scam

Next Story
Source: Daily Mail
Alarming phishing scam spreading malware to Macs
Previous Happening Now

Alarming phishing scam spreading malware to Macs

Avoid this viral Facebook survey at all costs!
Next Happening Now

Avoid this viral Facebook survey at all costs!

View Comments ()