Leave a comment

Is Yahoo's latest move just another ruse to keep your account?

Is Yahoo's latest move just another ruse to keep your account?
2nix Studio / Shutterstock.com

We've been telling you all about Yahoo's problems for quite some time now. The tech company had a massive data breach in 2014 that could have impacted billions of accounts. Not long after we found out about the breach, we learned that Yahoo was scanning all incoming emails to comply with a government request.

Things seem so bad that we advised you to delete your Yahoo account, if you still have one. You won't believe what's happening behind the scenes to keep people from doing that.

In most cases, when you wish to change email carriers, you’ll take a few weeks to automatically forward email from your old account to the new address. That way you gently re-direct everyone.

In what seemed like a move to keep people from deleting their account, Yahoo management removed its auto-forward option. They said it was removed for maintenance purposes and they were working to restore it.

Good news, it has finally been restored. Here is a statement put out by Yahoo on the subject:

"Last week, we temporarily disabled the ability to add new automatic forwarding in Yahoo Mail. As of today, auto-forward is enabled again for all Mail users. We apologize for the interruption.

"Why the pause? Over the past year, Yahoo Mail has been upgrading its platform. This has allowed us to bring a better search experience to Yahoo Mail, add multiple account support, and improve performance as we quickly scale this new system globally. The feature was temporarily disabled as part of this process."

Now that automatic forwarding has been restored, you might want to delete your Yahoo account. Here are the steps to do it:

How to close your Yahoo account:

  • Go to the "Terminating your Yahoo account" page.
  • Read the information under "Before continuing, please consider the following information."
  • Confirm your password - if you forgot your password, you can recover it with the Yahoo Sign-in Helper.
  • Click Terminate this Account.

Remember, if you do close your Yahoo account, you will not be able to use services associated with it. So if you decide to keep it, at the very least change your password and your Yahoo secret questions and answers. You can also enable two-step verification, set up a Yahoo Account Key, or use a password manager. It's always better to be safe than sorry!

Next Story
Source: TechCrunch
Security cameras could let criminals watch you instead
Previous Happening Now

Security cameras could let criminals watch you instead

BMW reveals self-balancing motorcycle
Next Happening Now

BMW reveals self-balancing motorcycle

View Comments ()