Leave a comment

Windows 10: Microsoft launches intrusive reminder

Windows 10: Microsoft launches intrusive reminder
Microsoft

Microsoft is irritating some users by stepping up efforts to get them to upgrade to Windows 10. People have until July 29 to upgrade to the new operating system for free, otherwise the upgrade will cost $119. Click here if you missed our story about this charge

Windows 10 has already been downloaded over 300 million times around the world. The new version of Windows is more secure and comes with the user-friendly web browser Edge, which are some reasons why it's so popular. Plus Windows 10 brought back the Start menu that had disappeared from Windows, much to almost everyone's disapproval.

But, not everyone is loving Windows 10. In fact, we recently shared some reasons you might not want to upgrade to the new operating system at all. Click here to see 10 things you might not like about Windows 10 if you're currently using an older version.

Of course, the complaints haven't stopped Microsoft from pushing users toward the upgrade, and the company has used some pretty sneaky tactics, hoping you won't notice. Back in May, the upgrade to Windows 10 was changed to a "Recommended Update," which most PCs are programmed to install automatically. (If you don't want this automatic update, click here for instructions to turn automatic updates off.)

We thought the worst of these methods were already over. Especially since Microsoft was just forced to pay out $10,000 to a woman who sued over a forced Windows 10 upgrade that cost her business thousands. But, it looks like Microsoft has something else in mind. Now, the company is using adware to remind users about the July 29 deadline in the most annoying way possible.

Microsoft has started using a tactic similar to adware as an upgrade reminder. A full-screen pop-up saying, "Sorry to interrupt, but this is important. Windows 10 free upgrade offer ends July 29." It goes on to say you can roll-back to your current operating system within 31 days if you decide Windows 10 is not right for you. Click here to see our step-by-step guide on how to roll-back to an older version.

The pop-up reminder takes over the entire screen and forces the user to choose "Upgrade now" or "Remind me later." If you don't select "Upgrade now" the notification will reappear every three days, unless you choose to be notified a total of three more times or to never be notified again; these options are offered on the left side of the screen.

Windows 10 update

Photo credit: The Guardian

Users with a recent version of the "Get Windows 10" app installed on their computer will not see the new notification. That also goes for those with computers that have been detected as incompatible with Windows 10 and those who have already decided to roll-back to an older version.

This new notification system comes after complaints over their previous version. On the old reminder, users were clicking on the red X in the upper right-hand corner thinking that would cancel the automatic upgrade. In reality, clicking the red X just implies a commitment to installing Windows 10 at a later time. Microsoft has since changed this so that the automatic update can be canceled. Click here to learn more about it.

If you're still on the fence about Windows 10, we've covered the topic extensively. Click here to read through our past articles so that you can make the most informed decision possible. 

Next Story
View Comments ()
Millions of Android phones, tablets and computers at risk of cyberattacks
Previous Happening Now

Millions of Android phones, tablets and computers at risk of cyberattacks

iPhone stress test: Can your phone case survive a 100-ft fall?
Next Happening Now

iPhone stress test: Can your phone case survive a 100-ft fall?