Leave a comment

Huge Facebook privacy hoaxes spreading, don't fall for it

Huge Facebook privacy hoaxes spreading, don't fall for it

Last year in September, you might have noticed some of your Facebook friends started posting about Facebook's privacy policy and how they no longer give Facebook permission to use their photos, personal information, and so on. It was an announcement made by people all over the site that Facebook better not even think of using their postings!

It reads something like this: "As of September 28th , 2015 at 10:50 p.m, I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents."

Similar posts are making the rounds again and let me tell you, it was a hoax then, and it's a hoax now. Don't fall for it. 

In fact, Facebook has issued the following statement about the posts: 

Copyright Meme Spreading on Facebook

There is a rumor circulating that Facebook is making a change related to ownership of users' information or the content they post to the site. This is false. Anyone who uses Facebook owns and controls the content and information they post, as stated in our terms. They control how that content and information is shared. That is our policy, and it always has been.

Another post gone viral in here in the United States and elsewhere claims that Facebook will soon become a paid service. If you post the status with the "legal statement" they want you to copy and paste, you'll be able to keep using Facebook for free. Again, don't believe it. 

If you're really concerned about Facebook using your photos, you'll want to run a Privacy Check of your profile on Facebook.

Privacy Check

Step #1: Who can see your posts. Here you'll adjust your audience. You can set your audience to Public, Friends, Friends except (where you can exclude individuals) and Only Me.

Step #2: What information is shared on your profile. This section is where you control more sensitive information on your profile, like your email address and birthday. Make sure these are set to "Only Me" for the most locked-down profile you can get.

Step #3: Apps. You've probably used your Facebook credentials to log into other apps. This is where all the apps that have your information are stored. I used this opportunity to delete the Facebook apps I didn't even know I had. Apps were set to be viewed by only me, but I don't like them in my profile, so they have now been deleted and there are fewer places that have my information.

However, there's an unsettling warning when you delete these apps. It's enough to make me stop using the "Log in with Facebook" button altogether. It reads, "We know you care who has your info. When you delete an app from Facebook, the app may still have the info you shared with them. You can contact the app or view their privacy policy for more details."

Stay up-to-date with us and like our page on Facebook at Facebook.com/kimkomando.

Next Story
Source: Telegraph
One way to put an end to distracted driving
Previous Happening Now

One way to put an end to distracted driving

Should he ditch the NFL for a magic career?
Next Happening Now

Should he ditch the NFL for a magic career?

View Comments ()