Leave a comment

Facebook just made a pretty awkward change to your profile

Facebook just made a pretty awkward change to your profile
Facebook

Surprise, surprise! Facebook has made more changes to your profile. That means it's time, once again, to double check your privacy settings.

This time around, Facebook has added a section to your profile called "Intro" that shows your network, your job and extended education at the very top of your profile.

If you haven't entered this information to Facebook to begin with, this won't affect you. If you have, you'll notice this work and education information is now more front and center than ever. Here's what my profile section looks like, without any of my employment history entered:

Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 8.54.22 AM

If you want to get rid of the information displayed in this section, click on the pencil icon to make edits. Under "Customize Your Intro" deselect the fields you want to hide. It's that easy.

 

2public-news-feed

If that's not enough to put your mind at ease, click through to the next page to learn how to do a Facebook Privacy Check.

Do a privacy check for good measure

While these changes were made, it's also a good idea to give yourself a privacy check. Facebook just so happened to prompt me to do so this morning.

IMG_0218

To do a privacy checkup, click on "Check Privacy" and Facebook will walk you through the steps. If you don't see a screen like the one above, simply type "Privacy Checkup" in the search bar and you'll see where you need to go.

Step 1: Who can see your posts

Here you'll adjust your audience. You can set your audience to Public, Friends, Friends except (where you can exclude individuals) and Only Me.

posts

share with

Step 2: What information is shared on your profile

This section is where you control more sensitive information on your profile, like your email address and birthday. Make sure these are set to "Only Me" for the most locked-down profile you can get.

profile

Step 3: Apps

You've probably used your Facebook credentials to log into other apps. This is where all the apps that have your information are stored. I used this opportunity to delete the Facebook apps I didn't even know I had. Apps were set to be viewed by only me, but I don't like them in my profile, so they have now been deleted and there are fewer places that have my information.

However, there's an unsettling warning when you delete these apps. It's enough to make me stop using the "Log in with Facebook" button altogether. It reads, "We know you care who has your info. When you delete an app from Facebook, the app may still have the info you shared with them. You can contact the app or view their privacy policy for more details."

apps 1

 

 

 

Next Story
View Comments ()
Police Department offers special tips for parents with kids in crowds this summer
Previous Happening Now

Police Department offers special tips for parents with kids in crowds this summer

FCC wants your help understanding radio noise and wireless interference
Next Happening Now

FCC wants your help understanding radio noise and wireless interference