We've told you about Google's photo storage site Google Photos. It's an easy way to organize your hundreds or thousands of digital pictures and videos.
You can move photos from your laptop, smartphone, tablet and other devices into one location, Google Photos. Those pictures and videos are stored into Google's cloud. You get unlimited storage for free, and can access your images from anywhere.
There are many features to like about Google Photos. For example, it organizes your photographs by date. Plus, you can search for your photos of your family and friends, and create online photo albums that have them in each photo. Or create online photo albums of trips you've taken.
But possibly its best feature is freeing up space on your phone. Once you've saved your photos to the cloud, you can delete them off your digital devices, freeing up space. Google Photos is now making that easier to do.
If you're using an Android phone, you can select its Free Up Space option in Google's settings. It's optional, but if you do, Google will automatically delete photos that have been backed up to the cloud. Note: Google says this option will soon be available on iOS devices.
But don't worry about photos disappearing from your phone. Before a photo is backed up to the cloud and deleted from your phone, you have to confirm that that's OK.
Or, you can opt to have Google Photos alert you when your device is running out of storage space. Then, you can delete saved copies of photos and videos that have been backed up.
So, you can get back to take dozens or hundreds of photos every month. You no longer have to worry that you're eating up your phone's storage space.