Leave a comment

This one Facebook app steals your login

This one Facebook app steals your login
Bloomua / Shutterstock.com

There are tons of apps out there designed to work with your Facebook account, but you've got to be careful which ones you use, because some are more dangerous than others. Just take a look this "unfriend" app. It can steal your Facebook password and do other damage to your smartphone or tablet.

The app is called Unfriend Alert, and it's designed to let you know when a Facebook friend unfriends you. But, instead of sending your email and password right to Facebook when you log in, it sends them to its own domain.

“Looking at a Wireshark log for this check however shows that the login credentials are not sent directly to Facebook but to yougotunfriended.com,” security firm MalwareBytes said.

That's not all. The app can also infect your gadgets with harmful malware.

If you downloaded Unfriend Alert onto your smartphone or tablet, you need to get rid of it immediately, so it doesn't have the chance to install malware on your gadget. You should also be wary of third-party apps that require your Facebook login information.

You also need to change your Facebook login information, because it may have been compromised by the app. You can change your password by clicking on the upside-down triangle in the top left corner of your Facebook page. Then, click settings.

Next, click the "Edit" button in the Password row. You will need to enter your old password before entering a new one.

Next Story
Source: FirstPost
View Comments ()
How to spot a LinkedIn scam
Previous Happening Now

How to spot a LinkedIn scam

Massive government hack: We were warned
Next Happening Now

Massive government hack: We were warned