Facebook users beware! There's a new scam spreading across Facebook that's tricking users into giving away their passwords and credit card information. Luckily, I'll show you the clues that it is rip-off, so you can spot it and avoid being duped.
The scam starts with a message from an account called "Facebook recovery" that appears as a reply to one of your Facebook messages. It warns that your account will be disabled because of abuse reported by other users. Take a look at the full text below.
Notification: Your Account will be Disabled!
Account FACEBOOK you have already been reported by others about the abuse of account, this is a violation of our agreement and may result in your account is disabled. Please verify your email account to unblock and help us do more for security and convenience for everyone.
Immediately do recover your Facebook account, by clicking on the link below:
If you ignore this message, we can not recover your account and your account will be permanently disabled.
Sorry to interrupt your convenience.
The Facebook Team
If you click the link to "recover" your account, you'll be prompted to enter your login information. It then asks you to update your credit card information, too.