Leave a comment

Is Facebook tracking you, even AFTER you delete your account?

Is Facebook tracking you, even AFTER you delete your account?

Facebook isn't free. All of the information that you give freely to Facebook goes straight to Facebook's advertisers. So while you don't pay Facebook anything to use its service, you're still giving the company something valuable whether you know it or not.

When you quit using Facebook's service, then you'd think that the company would stop tracking your Web activity, right? Nope. A new study suggests that Facebook is still sneakily tracking you.

Commissioned by the Belgian Data Protection Administration, the study concludes that Facebook installs tracking cookies on your browser that keep tracking you even after you delete your Facebook account.

Bonus tip: Stop online advertisers from tracking you.

Cookies are small bits of data stored on your browser that you receive from many websites. Facebook's tracking cookies can track people with or without an account on the site.

Next page: Find out how Facebook might have broken the law.
This weird Amazon button is NOT an April Fools' prank
Previous Happening Now

This weird Amazon button is NOT an April Fools' prank

Update your browser now for 4 critical security fixes
Next Happening Now

Update your browser now for 4 critical security fixes

View Comments ()