Leave a comment

Facebook security bug leaked private pictures

Facebook security bug leaked private pictures
photo courtesy of SHUTTERSTOCK

A server-side bug that Facebook just fixed meant that enabling the Photo Sync feature would let any app with access to your phone's photos see every single photo on your Facebook profile.

This security flaw was discovered by Laxman Mutiyah, the same good-guy hacker who spotted the last major Facebook flaw. For a quick refresher, that bug let anyone who knew the right URL delete any photo on Facebook whenever they wanted.

The newest flaw spotted by Laxman isn't quite as bad as that, I'm glad to say, but it's still risky. Photo Sync is a feature that you can enable in the Facebook app. It automatically uploads any picture that you take on your phone to Facebook's servers.

These pictures are uploaded as private, and you can jump into the app to change the ones that you want your friends to see.

Next page: Find out what went wrong.
We're one step closer to Amazon drone delivery
Previous Happening Now

We're one step closer to Amazon drone delivery

Warning: Trouble with latest Apple update
Next Happening Now

Warning: Trouble with latest Apple update

View Comments ()