A new, dangerous viral video site popped up six days ago. The site, called "YouTube Extreme," tricks you into giving up your Facebook information and then does something much worse: If you click on any of the videos on the site, then you'll automatically download a file.
Installing that file could leave you with a massive amount of malware on your PC or Mac. I tried it myself and this is what I came up with:
If you take a look at the lower left-hand side of my browser, you'll see that "MPlayerX.dmg" was downloaded. That happened after I clicked the "play" button on a video that was supposedly coming from YouTube.
Turns out that the play button that I clicked actually was just hiding an actual YouTube link that was already on the site in the first place. They just want you to download the scammy software.
This six-day-old scam comes on the heels of a new study from Bitdefender that analyzed 850,000 Facebook scams and found that the site itself may be to blame for people getting fooled.