A. I'm glad you asked, Susan! You may not know this, but when you empty the Recycle Bin, your files aren't actually deleted.
They stay hidden on your hard drive until new data overwrites them. That means they can linger on your computer long after you think you've really deleted them. It also means you, or someone else, can recover them.
Now, your niece may not be computer-savvy enough to find these files, and she probably wouldn't want to. However, she might download viruses onto the laptop. Many viruses can find the "deleted" information no problem and send your information back to hackers.
Before you hand over any computer, you want to make sure no trace of your sensitive information exists. The process can be a little intense, but it's one you have to take to secure your privacy. Luckily, I'm here to walk you through it, step by step.