Leave a comment

Stop Windows 10 from automatically sharing your Wi-Fi with others

Stop Windows 10 from automatically sharing your Wi-Fi with others
image courtesy of shutterstock

Among the many new features Windows 10 brings to the table, or leaves off the table, there's one interesting feature that hasn't gotten much attention. It's called Wi-Fi Sense and it's either a major convenience or a major security risk, depending on who you ask.

Basically, Wi-Fi Sense lets people log in to your Wi-Fi network without needing the encryption password (you did set up encryption, right?). OK, that sounds dangerous and scary, but it isn't quite as bad as you might be thinking.

A bit of history: Wi-Fi Sense isn't actually new; it's been a feature in Windows Phone 8.1 for a year now. However, Windows 10 will finally bring it to laptops, desktops and Windows-based tablets, so a lot more people are going to have it.

If you've ever been to someone's house and wanted to log in to their Wi-Fi network, you know it's a hassle. They have to hunt down the password and you have to type it into your gadget. It's even worse if they take my advice and have a strong Wi-Fi password, which is usually hard to type.

The same goes for a business Wi-Fi network. It might ask you to provide your name, email address or phone number before you can log in. Wi-Fi Sense will provide that information for you automatically, so you can just start using the network.

Next page: How Wi-Fi Sense works, the security risks, and how to turn it off
Windows 10 is here: Everything you need to know (updated!)
Previous Tips

Windows 10 is here: Everything you need to know (updated!)

Change every password in just minutes
Next Tips

Change every password in just minutes

View Comments ()