Leave a comment

Delete old Facebook posts so they don't come back to haunt you

Delete old Facebook posts so they don't come back to haunt you
Photo Courtesy of ShutterStock

Nothing you put up on Facebook ever goes away on its own. Your profile probably has photos and status updates in it from years ago that you don't even remember posting.

Unfortunately, these old posts can put you at risk. You can bet that potential employers or landlords might check you out on Facebook before extending an offer. You might have put something online that hurts your reputation or gives hackers a way to breach your privacy. It's even worse if things you think are private really aren't.

-advertisement - article continues below-

How private is your profile? Read my step-by-step guide to lock down your Facebook profile privacy settings.

In the case of the military, the FBI is sounding the alarm on posting information that could make you a terrorist target. ISIS has put out a call for sympathizers in the U.S. to attack military personnel and their families. You don't want attackers learning anything about you online that they could use to find and hurt you or your loved ones.

No matter the reason, taking some time to look at and clean up your Facebook history is never a bad thing. Fortunately, Facebook makes it easy to review and clean up old posts.

Next page: Everything you've ever done on Facebook
 
 
 
 
 
 
Santa shopping privacy: Keep your browsing history secret
Previous Tip

Santa shopping privacy: Keep your browsing history secret

The one way to know your iPad or iPhone has a virus
Next Tip

The one way to know your iPad or iPhone has a virus

View Comments ()